Skip links

encouraging-interaction-communication-with-aac

Presented By :

Encouraging Interaction Communication with AAC

Presented By :

Kelly Key, M.S.

Thursday, September 29, 2022.
2 PM ET | 1 PM CT | 12 PM MT | 11 AM PT

Shared reading is an evidence based intervention for emergent literacy students and is a key context for language and literacy intervention.

Join this 45-minute session and learn how Kelly Key’s unit school district (ages 3-22) uses the shared reading approach to encourage engagement, interaction, and communication with her AAC users.  Kelly will share How-Tos to aid students and educators:
  • Prep for shared reading
  • Use the right partner skills during shared reading
  • Communicate beyond requests
  • Interact with reading material and people
Kelly will share many practical strategies that you will be able to implement right away. All attendees will receive access to sample Readtopia lessons.

About the Presenter

Kelly Key, M.S.

is the Assistive Technology Coordinator for the Barrington School District (EC-Transition) in Barrington, Illinois for 16 years. She has worked in the field of special education for over 25 years.  She served as an administrator for 13 years as a Special Services Facilitator and Assistant Principal.  Kelly also taught special education students with multiple needs for 9 years. Kelly has a Bachelor’s degree in Special Education, a Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Special Education, and a Certificate of Advanced Study in Educational Leadership as well as an ATACP (Assistive Technology Applications Certificate). Kelly presents at local, state, and national conferences and colleges on various assistive technology topics.

About the Presenter

Karen A. Erickson, Ph.D.​

Karen A. Erickson, Ph.D. is Director of the Center for Literacy and Disability Studies at University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill. Her focus is on understanding the best ways to assess and teach reading and writing to children with the most severe disabilities. As a special education teacher, Dr. Erickson has worked to support students with a range of disabilities in a variety of classroom settings, particularly students who do not use speech as their primary means of communication.

Website: https://www.med.unc.edu/ahs/clds

Author Profile: https://products.brookespublishing.com/cw_Contributorinfo.aspx?ContribID=110&Name=Karen+Erickson,Ph.D.

Try Readtopia for free

TRY FIRST AUTHOR FOR FREE!

Request a Quote