Skip links

End the Scavenger Hunt: Choosing a Special Education Curriculum

Live Webinar -
End the Scavenger Hunt:
Choosing a Special Education Curriculum

Presented by: Laura Cuthbertson, M.A.
Thursday, Dec. 1, 2022
2 P.M. ET | 1 P.M. CT | 12 P.M. MT | 11 A.M. PT

A girl seated at a desk in a classroom looking down at a piece of paper and holding a crayon which she is using to color.


Educator Laura Cuthbertson, M.A. shares the process she used for choosing a special education curriculum that would meet the needs of learners in her middle school autism classroom.

Laura spent hours each week tracking down, modifying, and even creating her own materials for her middle-school autism classroom. Sound familiar?

She needed a curriculum that supported a wide range of behavioral and cognitive levels. She also wanted something that aligns with the principles in Comprehensive Literacy for All, by Dr. Karen Erickson. Her hunt paid off and she’s ready to share her process.

Join Laura for a 45-minute webinar where she will share her teacher tips for choosing the right special education curriculum—without scrambling. She will cover how to:

  • Find a special education curriculum
  • Evaluate for alignment with Comprehensive Literacy Instruction
  • Pilot a new program—tips for success

 

This session is designed for Special Education Teachers, Speech Language Therapists, Curriculum Coordinators and district decision-makers. Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced.

About the Presenter

Headshot of Laura Cuthbertson outdoors.
Laura Cuthbertson, M.A.

Laura earned her masters in Autism Spectrum Disorders from Grand Canyon University. She is a former special education teacher who taught middle school students with complex learning needs and  is a Curriculum Specialist at Building Wings where she develops math lessons for Readtopia®.

Karen A. Erickson, Ph.D.​

Karen A. Erickson, Ph.D. is Director of the Center for Literacy and Disability Studies at University of North Carolina—Chapel Hill. Her focus is on understanding the best ways to assess and teach reading and writing to children with the most severe disabilities. As a special education teacher, Dr. Erickson has worked to support students with a range of disabilities in a variety of classroom settings, particularly students who do not use speech as their primary means of communication.

Website: https://www.med.unc.edu/ahs/clds

Author Profile: https://products.brookespublishing.com/cw_Contributorinfo.aspx?ContribID=110&Name=Karen+Erickson,Ph.D.

Try Readtopia for free

TRY FIRST AUTHOR FOR FREE!

Request a Quote